From the Notebooks of a Middle School Princess

Book Information
Rating: Dependable
Reading/Interest Level: Intermediate
Author: Meg Cabot
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Year: 2015
ISBN: 9781250066022
Pages: 192

Meg Cabot is back in the Princess Diaries world with a new series about Princess Mia’s long-lost sister. Olivia is average in every way except that she lives with her aunt and her husband and his two kids after her mother died. When her classmate Annabelle threatens to give Olivia a beat-down after school, Olivia is saved when a limousine pulls up and Princess Mia comes out of it to tell Olivia that they are sisters. They go to New York to meet her dad and Grandmere, but her aunt and uncle don’t want her to go to Genovia with Mia and the others. Olivia has to adjust to being a princess and learns to appreciate the love of her new family.

This book is meant for a much younger audience than the original Princess Diaries books. Olivia is twelve, but the voice and her personality seems more like she’s ten. Unlike the original books, this book doesn’t have a large number of pop culture references or references to things that would be inappropriate for a middle school or younger audience. The story is helped by doodles (Olivia is an artist) and text messages, replacing the instant messaging from the first series. Olivia has very little character development and she is not among the characters doing the important actions in the story, but it is fun to see her wide-eyed reaction to the new world of being a princess. For younger fans of the Princess Diaries movies or girls who just like princesses, From the Notebooks of a Middle School Princess will be a fun read.