Dragons at Crumbling Castle

Book Information
Rating: Outstanding
Reading/Interest Level: Intermediate
Author: Terry Pratchett
Publisher: Corgi
Year: 2014
ISBN: 9780552572804
Pages: 339

Dragons at Crumbling Castle is a collection of short stories written by Terry Pratchett in his younger years. The stories contain a unique set of heroes, including Hercules the Tortoise, people on a speck bent on traveling to another speck, carpet people exploring new lands, a caveman who enjoys inventing things that will change the world, a champion egg dancer, a boring knight, and an abominable snowman. The book contains fourteen zany stories with plots ranging from going to fight dragons to a bus going back in time.

The stories might have been written at the beginning of his writing career, but they have all the wit and charm that Pratchett fans would expect. The stories are short enough to read in small intervals, but entertaining enough that readers will be laughing out loud and eager to read the next one. The illustrations are funny, amusing, and will likely remind readers of the artwork by Quentin Blake. Readers who enjoy silliness, fantasy, and adventure are likely to enjoy these stories, whether they are already Pratchett fans or not.