Bravelands: Broken Pride

Book Information
Rating: Excellent
Reading/Interest Level: Intermediate
Author: Erin Hunter
Publisher: Harper
Year: 2017
ISBN: 9780062642028
Pages: 119

Broken Pride takes place in an area in Africa called Bravelands where the animals have a code: kill to survive. In Braveland there is a young cub named Fearless. After a terrible incident where Fearless's father is killed, he is sent away to save his own life. There he joins a baboon and wants to join their troop. Knowing that Fearless could never be one of them, he and the baboon set off in search of a solution to save the Bravelands with an elephant that they meet along the way.

Bravelands is a series written by the same author of the Warriors series. This story is very intense for a young child. The story is written very well with visual characters. Braveland's story follows a smooth plot line that the reader can follow. The story can be related to other stories in text to text comparisons. The characters get to travel all over the Bravelands and the reader can visually see where they go. Each chapter is filled with new characters with their own stories. Characters are richly developed in a deep story plot that has people reaching for the second book.

This story has some violence and deaths, recommended for 9 year old's and older