SPACEPOP #1: Not Your Average Princesses

Book Information
Rating: Excellent
Reading/Interest Level: Primary, Intermediate
Author: Erin Downing
Illustrator: Jen Bartel
Publisher: Imprint
Year: 2016
ISBN: 9781250102270
Pages: 216

When the evil Empress Geela kidnaps their parents and takes over their planets, the five princesses of the Pentangle are forced into hiding. Not content to quietly bide their time, Princesses Athena, Rhea, Juno, Luna, and Hera go undercover. They form a band to fight back in their own way and spread a message of hope. As their fan base grows, they team up with The Resistance to carry out missions that weaken Geela’s position. Though they are successful in their first battles, it’s only the beginning of the war, and the princesses prepare to continue the fight for their families and for their homes.

As the first volume in the SPACEPOP series, the book introduces each of the five princesses and their unique personalities well. They are all very different and don’t get along right away. As the story progresses though, they learn to work together as a team. Not much is known about the book’s villain, but whether her backstory and character’s development will unfold in future books remains to be seen. The illustrations in the book’s two inserts are bold, colorful, and add an extra dimension of fun to a story that is entertaining, humorous, and witty.