The Lone City #1: The Jewel

Book Information
Rating: Excellent
Reading/Interest Level: Young Adult
Author: Amy Ewing
Publisher: HarperTeen
Year: 2014
ISBN: 9780062235794
Pages: 358

The Jewel is the first book in Amy Ewing’s The Lone City series. Violet is a young teenage girl who has been groomed to serve a specific purpose. Violet, and many other girls like her are sold off to be surrogates for royalty. These girls are chosen because they possess a specific power called the auguries. The auguries allow the girls to change or create something--like a child. Violet is bought by the Duchess of the Lake who wants Violet to use her strength in the augury of growth to create a child in record time. Meanwhile, Violet is struggling with her attraction to Ash, a young man brought in to be a companion to the niece of the Duchess, as well as a plot to escape the harsh cruelty of the Jewel. Book one in this intriguing series ends with Violet giving up her chance at freedom to save her friend, fellow surrogate Raven, and being caught with Ash, thus committing treason against the Jewel.

The Jewel is aimed at a more mature young adult audience. It deals with some hard themes that keep the reader interested and invested in the story. Violet is a relatable character, struggling to find out what she really wants, while living a life that dictates her every move. The forbidden romance between her and Ash will keep the reader on edge as they struggle with their feelings. Amy Ewing keeps the reader on their toes right up to the very end, leaving them wanting the next book immediately. The Jewel is a well written book, however there are parts that may leave the reader feeling uncomfortable. The themes Ewing has chosen to explore are not common in the young adult literary world. It is not simply another teen romance novel, but a much deeper read that makes the reader craving more.

*Contains mild sexual content and mild violence.