The Lost Frost Girl

The Lost Frost Girl.jpg

Book Information
Rating: Dependable
Reading/Interest Level: Intermediate
Author: Amy Wilson
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Year: 2017
ISBN: 9780062671486
Pages: 307

Owl has just learned she is the daughter of Jack Frost. Her mother journeyed through the land of the Faye, and met Jack in his winter wonderland world. Now, Owl is living a fairly normal life, but things are starting to change. The new boy in school, Avery, keeps staring at her. Her best friend Mallory’s parents are separated and it’s causing friction in their friendship. Oh, and Owl keeps causing ice to pop up when she’s feeling anxious. Finally, she meets Jack one night, and he’s terrifying, but meeting him again, she starts to embrace her power. Unfortunately, there is a plot against Jack to banish him from the world. Owl must do her best to help her father, and ultimately save the world from the overthrow of the natural order of the seasons.

At times cliché, The Lost Frost Girl still manages to capture the interest of the reader and show a world of magic and balance. Owl is learning who she is in the world, and comes to accept her heritage throughout the story. Similarly, Avery also must learn to accept his heritage, but also break free from the cruel shadow of his father. This parallel adds not only to the character development, but also to the plot line as both children struggle against the nature of their fathers. The best quality of the writing in this novel is the descriptions of the magic involved. Much like the frost, Amy Wilson is detailed and intricate in her descriptions of the power of the elements, which draws the reader in to the world of the Faye. Overall, it is an enjoyable read for the winter season.