The Sisters Grimm #7: The Everafter War

Book Information
Rating: Outstanding
Reading/Interest Level: Intermediate
Author: Michael Buckley
Illustrator: Peter Ferguson
Publisher: Amulet Books
Year: 2009
ISBN: 9780810984295
Pages: 306

War has come to Ferryport Landing. After Prince Charming, Mr. Canis, and Robin Hood build a fort as a refuge against the Scarlet Hand. Now, the Scarlet Hand is attacking Everafters who refuse to join their cause. Henry and Veronica Grimm have awoken from their sleeping curse and want to leave Ferryport Landing, but war draws the Grimm family in. The Grimm girls are forced to learn the demands of war and try to work with their parents. Henry is unable to grasp that his daughters are no longer innocent, helpless young girls, and Veronica discovers that she was pregnant, but someone stole her baby as she slept. Sabrina, Daphne, and Puck come face to face with the infamous Master, leader of the Scarlet Hand.

The Everafter War is the seventh book in The Sisters Grimm series by Michael Buckley. This novel focuses on the familiar theme in the series of family dynamics. Henry Grimm treats Daphne as a five-year-old, even though she has matured well past that age through her experiences in Ferryport Landing. Meanwhile, Sabrina has to deal with her parents arguing and trying to defend themselves in the war, which is hardly the reunion Sabrina had been hoping for. Ultimately, the family learns to work out their differences and Sabrina learns the importance of relying on your family. The novel is an exciting installment in the series. It ties in well with the fifth book, which revealed in a time traveling episode that war was inevitable. This novel shows how the Grimm family and their friends have changed to make the future better.

*Contains mild violence.