The Sisters Grimm #8: The Inside Story

Book Information
Rating: Outstanding
Reading/Interest Level: Intermediate
Author: Michael Buckley
Illustrator: Peter Ferguson
Publisher: Amulet Books
Year: 2010
ISBN: 9780810997264
Pages: 266

Sabrina, Daphne, and Puck leap into the Book of Everafter in pursuit of the Master, who has kidnapped their baby brother. They land right in Oz and must pretend to be the main characters in order to progress through the story. Once they do, a door appears and they continue to the next story, progressing towards the Master. Pinocchio is also loose in the book, trying to change his story so that he can grow from a boy to a man. As they continue in the strange world of the book, they encounter the editor of the book and a mysterious creature locked in the margins of the book. Eventually, they make it to the story of Snow White, which has been rewritten according to the editor. They finally encounter the Master in a showdown which leads to the final novel in the series.

The Inside Story is the eighth book in The Sisters Grimm series by Michael Buckley. this book is different than all the other novels as it takes place inside the Book of Everafter. Sabrina is forced to rely on herself and her friends and accept her past decisions. She is betrayed by a close friend, but accepts that mistakes happen and that it's best to move on and learn from them. And Daphne teaches her that defending family is always the right decision. The series always focuses on Sabrina's growth and development and the growing relationship between her and Puck. The two always have small moments in each book, but the biggest growth is in this novel when Sabrina comes to terms with her love for Puck. Buckley handles this masterfully by not making it an adult relationship. They are still children and show their love in a childlike fondness for each other.

*Contains mild violence.