Whatever After #11: Two Peas in a Pod

Whatever After Two Peas in a Pod.jpg

Book Information
Rating: Outstanding
Reading/Interest Level: Primary, Intermediate
Author: Sarah Mlynowski
Publisher: Scholastic, Inc.
Year: 2018
ISBN: 9781338162899
Pages: 162

Abby and Jonah find a magic mirror in their new house. The mirror lands them in the Princess and the Pea story. The people in the castle think that Abby is their missing princess because she cannot sleep on top of all of the mattresses. Abby does not like being in charge, so she holds a contest in order to find the rightful princess. Abby looks for a princess who is brave, smart, and creative. When Abby is about to crown the princess, Prince Micha captures Abby, Jonah, and the contestants because he wants to rule. Using everyone’s talents, Abby and Jonah escape Prince Micha and retake the kingdom. Since Belly, originally the castle’s maid, proves to be the most quick-thinking of the group, everyone decides that she deserves to be the new princess. Now that their mission is complete, Abby and Jonah go back to reality.

This series is for readers who love fairy tales. Each fairy tale in the series is modernized, bringing in elements from current everyday life. Abby and Jonah are dynamic, talking to the fairy tale characters in a way that normal eleven- and seven-year-olda from the millennial world would. Additionally, they learn valuable lessons through their experiences. In this story, Abby and Jonah learn about the importance of teamwork and how people can accomplish more together than they can by working alone. Young readers who enjoy fairy tales and adventure will love this series.